5 tips for new runners!

IMG_1190

First, let me say that I am not a professional runner, nor am I even that good of a runner. However, I do enjoy going out for a run and I have learned a few things over the years of starting and stopping numerous times! Here’s some of my running history in case it helps you:

  1. The most I have ever run at one time is 8 miles. This has only happened once. haha
  2. I got shin splits very regularly until I found the right shoes for me.
  3. I log on average 10-12 miles a week plus 3-4 days at the gym.
  4. I gain weight when I run. Boooooo
  5. I do not use any special running equipment besides my phone to track my distance and to listen to music.
  6. I run s.l.o.w. about an 11 minute mile.

See, I’m not pro! However I do have a few tips for new runners:

1. Run for time: as a new runner nothing can be more discouraging than planning to run 3 miles and realize you can’t. It may be physically impossible for you or you could injure yourself. At the very beginning, run for time and nothing else. Don’t worry about your pace, distance or anything else. Once you can run for 30 minutes uninterrupted you can start changing things up!

2. Start slow: when you’ve decided to start running it’s easy to get excited and do too much too early. Your body needs time to learn and grow while you are starting a new physical activity. A great way to start slow is to use the couch to 5K plan. It starts off with a walk/run combination with the end goal being either a 5K or running for 30 minutes over the course 9 weeks. This is an ideal way to start! I’ve used this method a few times over the last few years to get me back into running again. It also got me ready for this race: The Monster Dash in Denver!

IMG_0588 (1)

3. Dont skimp on shoes: let me be the first to tell you that shoes can make all the difference. It may be hard to drop $80-100 on a pair of shoes but your body will thank you. In the past I always wore the same brand of shoe because it was popular and it seemed everyone else was doing it. I finally went to a local running store and they did all the fittings and tests to find me the right shoe. To save a few dollars I bought the shoe they recommended but last year’s model.

4. Sign up for a race: for some people this can be great motivation to get them out the door and logging the miles. Sign up for a local run that isn’t too long of a distance and also gives you enough time to train. The idea of having a deadline can be encouraging and I promise the excitement from the race will get your adrenaline going! Some good ones to look for are The Color Run or some sort of holiday run!

Unknown

5. Find what works for you: this can be very  broad and cover lots of aspects of being a new runner. Find the right clothing and gear for you! I have found specific things that work great for me while on a run: a //ws-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/q?ServiceVersion=20070822&OneJS=1&Operation=GetAdHtml&MarketPlace=US&source=ac&ref=tf_til&ad_type=product_link&tracking_id=kateteodoro-20&marketplace=amazon&region=US&placement=B004QQTDA2&asins=B004QQTDA2&linkId=35QUW4HGXNAIRPM5&show_border=true&link_opens_in_new_window=true“>waist belt to put my phone in. I cannot run with a phone in my hand, especially my left hand. Weird, I know. A running hat works great for all weather. Socks are important to me personally. I like bombas and these. As is a very supportive sports bra. Find the right music! Or no music at all. I love to run to upbeat music or a podcast that I love! It’s distracting and motivating. Find the right atmosphere! I like to run alone. For some people it’s a run club. Others it’s a single running buddy. Some people love to run on the treadmill while others hate it. It may take some time and trials by error but eventually you’ll find what works best for you.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

